Salsa dancing
DVDs by category
Practise 'Solo' at Home
"On the line" Salsa & Mambo, On1 & On2
Cuban Salsa
Styling inspiration from amazing dancers
Turn Patterns
Timing & Rhythm
Bachata & Merengue
Cha Cha Cha
All Products
From Salsa to Mambo via Cha Cha Cha
Timing Products
Timing Exercises Vol 4
Timing Exercises Vol 3
Timing Exercises Vol 1&2
Salsa Timing DVD
Salsa Timing CD
Salsa with the Stars
Advanced Salsa Figures
Cuban for "Non Cubanos"
Salsa Personal Training
Bachata Caribbean Style
Feelin' Merengue
Tools for Students
Timing Lesson
Salsa Dictionary
Salsa Footwork
Salsa Articles
About Salsa
About Merengue
Salsa Video Scripts
Salsa Music Reviews
Salsa DVD Reviews

Us on Youtube: Salsa and Mambo, Bachata, Merengue

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Us

© 2002-2012SalsaIsGood
All Rights Reserved.

DVD - $30
Click for more info
Click for more info

Exercices rythmiques Vol 3 - Pas de Salsa et Mambo

Un nombre d’exercices conçus pour développer votre musicalité et améliorer la vitesse,
souplesse et précision de vos pas de Salsa
Timing Exercises Vol 3 - Français
English, Italiano, Français, Español
Timing Exercises
 
DVD - $30
Click for more info
Click for more info
Click here to view all our video clips (Salsa, Bachata & Merengue)

Ce DVD comprend 4 types d’exercices

1) Le premier montre comment faire les pas suivant le battement fort, faible et syncopé. Il aide à mieux connaître l’idée de ce DVD et à vous concentrer sur le rapport entre vos pieds et le son qu’ils cherchent à suivre.

2) exercice pour faire les pas, suivant le son de trois instruments typiques de la salsa : clave, conga et basse. apprendre à bouger avec eux, et cela développe davantage la compréhension de leur rythme

3) exercices a les pas plus rapides et cherche à développer vitesse et souplesse ; ils sont nécessaires évidemment pour danser selon une musique rapide, mais ils sont également essentiels pour vous faire danser en souplesse et sans effort les salsas plus lentes.

4) d’exercices est basé sur des phrasés rythmiques «free style» courants. Comme ils sont si brefs, on peut les utiliser partout lorsqu’on danse, même quand l’on danse avec un partenaire, pas nécessairement seulement quand l’on danse tout seul



Also check our set of Salsa Timing Products
Salsa Timing CD Salsa Timing DVD Salsa Exercises Vol 1 Salsa Exercises Vol 2 Salsa Exercises Vol 3 Cha Cha Cha exercises
 

Exercices rythmiques Vol 3
Description


Ce DVD comprend un nombre d’exercices conçus pour développer votre musicalité et améliorer la vitesse, souplesse et précision de vos pas. L’idée est très simple : imaginez que vos pieds soient des instruments de percussion. Si le son imaginaire qu’ils font va d’accord avec la musique, vous êtes donc sur le temps de la musique, les pas que vous faites sont intéressants et, très important, ils semblent naturels parce qu’ils suivent le temps sur lequel vous dansez. C’est comme le flamenco ou la danse à claquettes: la seule différence est que vous ne pensez pas au son que font vos pieds et de toute façon dans un club de salsa personne ne pourrait l’entendre: vous développez la conscience de ce que font vos pieds quand vous dansez.

Ce DVD comprend 4 types d’exercices. Le premier montre comment faire les pas suivant le battement fort, faible et syncopé. Il aide à mieux connaître l’idée de ce DVD et à vous concentrer sur le rapport entre vos pieds et le son qu’ils cherchent à suivre. Les premiers exercices sont très faciles mais la syncope dans l’exercice 3 peut mettre en difficulté les danseurs moyens et, peut-être, même les danseurs avancés.

Le deuxième type d’exercice est conçu pour faire les pas, suivant le son de trois instruments typiques de la salsa : clave, conga et basse. Tandis que dans les volumes 1 et 2 des exercices sur le temps vous avez appris à battre la mesure avec les mains et à faire les pas de base suivant le rythme de ces instruments, ici on va apprendre à bouger avec eux, et cela développe davantage la compréhension de leur rythme. Encore une fois ces exercices peuvent paraître faciles mais faire les pas exactement et précisément suivant la basse, par exemple, n’est pas si aussi facile que l’on ne pense, et donc préparez-vous.

Le troisième groupe d’exercices a les pas plus rapides et cherche à développer vitesse et souplesse ; ils sont nécessaires évidemment pour danser selon une musique rapide, mais ils sont également essentiels pour vous faire danser en souplesse et sans effort les salsas plus lentes.

Enfin, le dernier groupe d’exercices est basé sur des phrasés rythmiques « free style » courants et moins courants. Ils peuvent paraître des « shines » et vous pouvez les utiliser comme tels. Ils étaient conçus différemment. D’abord, ils sont plus brefs que les « shines » traditionnels, comprenant seulement 2 mesures : le résultat est qu’ils sont beaucoup plus faciles à s’en rappeler. Puis leur but n’est pas le style pour attirer l’attention, mais plutôt le rythme, pour vous faire danser selon la musique. Ils sont discrets mais pourtant ils sont des « shines » parfaits pour les timides. Enfin, comme ils sont si brefs, on peut les utiliser partout lorsqu’on danse, même quand l’on danse avec un partenaire, pas nécessairement seulement quand l’on danse tout seul.

Il y a 27 exercices en tout et on va vous expliquer comment utiliser ce DVD pour apprendre les pas. Pour chaque exercice il y a 4 « clips ». D’abord vous écoutez le schéma rythmique et vérifiez si vous le comprenez en battant les mains à temps avec lui ; vous pouvez le faire suivant l’exemple de l’instructeur pour vérifier si vous battez correctement. Si ça va bien on va voir les pas très lentement, comme ça vous pouvez suivre, littéralement, pas après pas. Ce « clip », comme d’ailleurs tous les autres, tourne continuellement, de sorte que vous pouvez vous entraîner pour tout le temps que vous voulez. Toute instruction est visible sur l’écran et cela signifie que, si vous avez besoin d’arrêter le DVD de temps en temps, vous pourrez toujours lire les instructions.  Après avoir appris les pas, vous pouvez vous entraîner premièrement sur un rythme de salsa plus lent et puis peu à peu plus rapide. Dans ces « clips » on peut écouter une guide rythmique qui bat chaque pas : on peut utiliser ce guide pour s’assurer que ses pas soient précis, vérifiant s’ils coïncident avec le son du guide rythmique. Quand on est sûr de faire les pas correctement, on peut continuer sans le guide rythmique.

On a produit ce DVD pour rendre votre étude le plus facile possible et la variété d’instructions qu’on a donné est presque la même qu’on a avec un maître de salsa personnel. La navigation du DVD est très facile et vous permets de sauter d’une partie à l’autre avec rien qu’un clic d’une souris ou avec la télécommande.

Une question : est-ce DVD sur 1 ou sur 2 ? La réponse est - ni sur l’un ni sur l’autre et sur tous les deux ! On emploie nos pieds comme instruments et ceux-ci ne sont ni sur 1 ni sur 2 : ils jouent simplement. Comme ça, les rythmes sur lesquels les pas sont créés vont d’accord avec tous les styles, on doit seulement danser. Les pas de base sont seulement montrés sur 2 mais on peut les faire aussi sur 1, si l’on veut.

Ce DVD est un autre pas sur la route qui vous mène de l’execution des pas de base à la liberté de danser et à se fusionner avec la musique.

On ne doit pas considérer ces exercices comme des « shines » ou une série de pasitos à apprendre par coeur et à répéter mécaniquement quand vous dansez avec les autres, mais plutôt comme des… exercices, c’est-à-dire des moyens pour améliorer votre vitesse, souplesse et surtout la conscience de la musique, comme ça vous pouvez savoir ce que font vos pieds quand vous dansez et cela est très important pour développer un jour vos pas personnels, ou même pour improviser.
DVD - $30
Click for more info
Click for more info

Et voilà comment utiliser Timing Exercises Volume 3

Avant tout, regardez l'introduction pour vous familiariser avec le contenu du DVD.

Puis passez aux exercices: évidemment il vaut mieux partir des exercices les plus faciles (Ex. 1-4) mais l'ordre n'est pas strictement progressif, comme ca vous pouvez sauter de l'un à l'autre, si vous voulez.

Salsa Timing Exercises

Salsa Timing Exercises   Une fois que vous avez choisi un exercice, pesez sur «Clap to the rhythm pattern» et soyez bien sur que vous avez appris le schéma du rythme: c'est le rythme sur lequel vous devez danser.

Vous pouvez arrêter le son du battement des mains en utilisant le bouton «Clap sound On» et «Clap sound Off » pour vérifier votre propre battement. Comme le vidéo tourne en continue, vous pouvez vous entrainer pour tout le temps que vous voulez. Salsa and Mambo Timing   Salsa Timing Exercises

Salsa Timing Exercises
  Quand vous êtes sur, pesez sur «Return to Menu» pour revenir au menu des exercices  

  Salsa Timing Exercises   Maintenant choisissez le clip “Footwork Breakdown”. Il vous aide à apprendre la séquence des pas en vous la faisant voir pas après pas, très lentement. Ici encore, le vidéo tourne en continue. Quand vous avez appris la séquence des pas, pesez sur « Return to Menu » pour revenir au menu des exercices. Mambo Steps

Salsa Timing Exercises   Maintenant choisissez le clip “ Practise at slow pace” La musique est lente et ca vous permet d'apprendre les pas suivant l'exemple d'un instructeur. Un guide du rythme vous aidera à reconnaitre le rythme sur lequel vous devez danser et à synchroniser vos pas. Quand vous êtes surs, pesez sur “ Return to Menu”.


Salsa Timing Exercises
  Maintenant, choisissez le clip “ Practise at medium pace” et vous pouvez danser ce que vous venez d'apprendre a un pas plus rapide. Ici vous pouvez utiliser les boutons “ Rhythm guide On” et “ Rhythm guide Off” pour entendre ou non le guide rythmique. Quand vous avez terminé, pesez sur « Return to menu » et procédez a un prochain exercice.   Mambo Timing 
 
DVD - $30
Click for more info
Click for more info
 


 

Ordering & Shipping Information Translated pages Contact Us

Salsa dancing
Home Shop Salsa Timing
& Rhythm

DVDs CDs
Practise 'Solo' at Home Salsa & Mambo
Partnerwork
Salsa & Mambo
Footwork
Salsa Video
Clips
DVDs by category
Practise 'Solo' at Home
"On the line" Salsa & Mambo, On1 & On2
Cuban Salsa
Styling inspiration from amazing dancers
Turn Patterns
Timing & Rhythm
Bachata & Merengue
All Products
From Salsa to Mambo via Cha Cha Cha
Timing Products
Timing Exercises Vol 4
Timing Exercises Vol 3
Timing Exercises Vol 1&2
Salsa Timing DVD
Salsa Timing CD
Salsa with the Stars
Advanced Salsa Figures
Cuban for "Non Cubanos"
Salsa Personal Training
Bachata Caribbean Style
Feelin' Merengue
Tools for Students
Timing Lesson
Salsa Dictionary
Salsa Footwork
Salsa Articles
About Salsa
About Merengue
Salsa Video Scripts

Us on Youtube: Salsa and Mambo, Bachata, Merengue

Frequently Asked Questions

Contact Us

© 2002-2012SalsaIsGood
All Rights Reserved.

DVD - $30
Click for more info

Timing Exercises Vol 3 - Footwork for Salsa and Mambo

A number of exercises designed to develop your musicality and improve
the speed, agility and precision of your footwork in Salsa and Mambo
Timing Exercises Vol 3 - In English
English, Italiano, Français, Español
Timing Exercises
 
DVD - $30
Click for more info
Click here to view all our video clips (Salsa, Bachata & Merengue)

Main Features:

• 27 exercises, which loop forever so you can progress at your own pace

• 4 clips for each exercise will make sure that you:

    • Understand the rhythm pattern by first clapping to it
    • Learn the footwork by following the break down, literally step by step
    • Practise the footwork first with a slow and then with a medium pace salsa rhythm so you remember it

• Rhythm guide available to ensure that your footwork is precise

• Choice of switching the rythym guide off, once you are confident you can execute the footwork correctly and precisely

• Written instructions on the screen, so you can pause the DVD at any time and still read the instructions

4 types of exercises

1) Stepping exercises with strong, weak and syncopated beats. This will ensure you focus on the relationship between your footwork and the sound it aims to match.

2) Stepping exercises with three salsa instruments: clave, conga and bass. By learning to move with the instruments you will learn to understand their rhythm.

3) Footwork exercises with a faster pace. This will develop your speed and agility. Learn these to dance to fast music, and to become smooth and effortless to slower music.

4) Footwork exercises based on free style rhythm patterns. These short rhythm-based shines are easy to remember, which means you will actually use them when you dance with a partner, not just when you dance solo


"This is the best timing dvd I have seen. Excellent job again. You do produce some of the finest Salsa dvd's on the market" (salsavideoreviews @ yahoo . co . nz)

"The teachings of these DVD quality is outstanding. I dance for 10 years, DVDs I have seen but the your are helpful even for dancers confirmed as me" (ulrich ul _ rich006 at hotmail.fr)

"The DVD is absolutely AMAZING. I am a satisfied customer and will by whatever timing product this company produces" (Jacqueline, jcqln prz at yahoo .com)

"the teaching is well designed, I am happy to have purchased this DVDs (Timing Exercises vol 1 2 & 3) and I recommend them to all the dancers who, like me, want to look further ahead" (fabrizio, strazzullo dot fab at gmail com)

"... I believe I am blessed to know your websites. I am really enjoying your DVDs and CD (Salsa Timing Full Set) every bit of it and I have been learning a lot and already I am getting better following the music" (Velmani, pvelmani gmail com)

"... its great, everything works great. Thank you for making such a nice DVD!" (muranyi . gergely at enoldalam . hu)

"Yours [Timing Exercises Vol 3 and 4] are the best DVD on the market" (rhinno856 at hotmail com)



Also check our set of Salsa Timing Products
Salsa Timing CD Salsa Timing DVD Salsa Exercises Vol 1 Salsa Exercises Vol 2 Salsa Exercises Vol 3 Cha Cha Cha exercises
 

Timing Exercises Vol 3
Description


This DVD includes a number of exercises designed to develop your musicality and improve the speed, agility and precision of your footwork in Salsa and Mambo.  The idea behind all this is very simple: imagine your feet are percussive musical instruments.  If the imaginary sound they make matches the music, it follows that you are in time with the music; that the footwork you execute is interesting and, most importantly,  it looks natural -  since it fits the rhythm you are dancing to.  It is much like flamenco and tap dancing.  The only difference is that you do not worry about the actual sound of your feet, which no one in a salsa club would hear anyway, you just develop the awareness of what your feet do, when you dance.
The DVD includes 4 types of exercises.  

The first type involves stepping to strong, weak and syncopated beats.  This helps to familiarise you with the idea behind this DVD and to ensure you start focussing on the relationship between your footwork and the sound they try to match.  These initial exercises are very easy, but the syncopation in Exercise 3 will already challenge intermediate dancers and possibly some advanced ones.

The second type of exercises is about stepping to the sound of three fundamental salsa instruments: clave, conga and bass.  While in the DVD: Timing Exercises Vol 1 & 2, you learnt to clap and to execute the basic steps to the rhythm of these instruments, here we learn to literally move with them.  This will further develop your understanding of their rhythm.  Once again, the exercises may look simple but stepping precisely and correctly to the bass, for example, will not be as trivial as it looks.  Be prepared to be challenged very early on.

The third set of exercises has a faster pace and aims to develop speed and agility.  These are needed not just to dance to fast music, but they are essential to make you look smooth and effortless when you dance to slower salsas.

Finally, the last set of exercises is based on free style rhythm patterns, including some common and some less common phrasing.  These may look like shines and you can surely use them as such.  However, they were designed to be different.  Firstly, they are much shorter than traditional shines, covering only 2 bars of music.  As a result, they are much easier to remember. Secondly, their focus is not styling, in order to attract attention, but rhythm, in order to make your dancing be one with the music.  They are inconspicuous and as such you can think of them as perfect shines for shy people J.  Thirdly, since they are so short, you can fit them anywhere in your dancing, even in between your partner work, not necessarily in your solo work.
There are 27 exercises in total and this is how you use the DVD to learn the footwork.  For each exercise there are 4 clips.  First, you listen to the rhythm pattern and check that you understand it by clapping to it.  You can do this by following the instructor to verify that you clap this rhythm correctly.  Once this is under control, we break down the footwork very slowly, so you can follow it, literally, step by step.  This, like all clips, loops continuously so you can exercise for as long as you need.  All instructions are provided visually on the screen, which means that if you need to pause the DVD at any time you still can read the instructions.  Once you have learnt the footwork, you can practise it first with a slow and then with a medium pace salsa rhythm.  In these clips you can still hear a rhythm guide which marks each step of the footwork; you can use this guide to ensure that your footwork is precise by checking that your steps match the sound of the rhythm guide. Once you are confident you can execute the footwork correctly and precisely, you can practise it without the rhythm guide.

We produced this DVD to make your learning as simple as possible and the variety of instructions we provide is as close as you can get to having a salsa personal instructor with you at all times.  The DVD navigation is very easy to use and lets you move from one part of the DVD to the next with a single mouse or remote control click.
A natural question to ask: is the DVD on1 or on2?  The answer is a beauty: neither and both!  We use our feet as a musical instruments, and musical instruments are neither on1 nor on2.. they just play.  Similarly, the rhythm patterns upon which the footwork is designed will match any dancing style, you will just dance it.  Only the basic steps in between the footwork are showed on2, but it will be trivial to do them on1, if you need.  

This DVD is one further step along the path which takes you from just executing regular basic steps to freeing your footwork when you dance and being one with the music.  You do not need to see these exercises as ‘shines’ , or set routines to memorise and repeat mechanically when you dance socially, rather as... exercises, that is, tools to develop your speed, agility and, most importantly, your musical awareness so that you can learn to be conscious of what your feet do when you dance.  This is essential so that one day you can develop your own footwork or just improvise. .
 
DVD - $30
Click for more info
top

How to use the Timing Exercises Volume 3


First, have a look at the Introduction to familiarise yourself with the content of the DVD.

Then go the Exercises.  Of course we recommend that you start from the easy ones (Exercises 1-4) but the exercise order is not strictly progressive, so you can jump here and there in the exercise list if so you wish.

Salsa Timing Exercises

Salsa Timing Exercises  

Once you have chosen an Exercise, click on “Clap to the rhythm pattern” and ensure that you learn the rhythm pattern.  This is the pattern you will dance to.


You can toggle the clapping sound on and off by using the button “Clap sound On” and “Clap sound Off” to test your own clapping.  The clip loops forever, so you can practise for as long as you wish.

Salsa and Mambo Timing   Salsa Timing Exercises

Salsa Timing Exercises
 

Once you are done, click on the ‘’Return to Menu” button to return to the Exercise Menu.

 

  Salsa Timing Exercises  

Now choose the “Footwork Breakdown” clip.  This will help you learn the footwork sequence by taking you step by step, very slowly, through it.  Once again, the clip loops forever. Once you have learnt the footwork sequence click on the ‘’Return to Menu” button to return to the Exercise Menu.

Mambo Steps

Salsa Timing Exercises  

Now choose the “Practise at slow pace” clip.  This lets you exercise the footwork sequence to slow music following the instructor.  A rhythm guide will help you recognise the rhythm you need to dance to and to synchronise your footwork to it.  Once you are done click on ‘’Return to Menu”



Salsa Timing Exercises
 

Now choose the “Practise at medium pace” clip.  Now you can practise what you learnt at a faster pace.  Here you can use the “Rhythm guide On” and “Rhythm guide Off” buttons to toggle the rhythm guide on and off. Once you are done, click on the ‘’Return to Menu” button and proceed to a different exercise.

  Mambo Timing 
   
DVD - $30
Click for more info
  top

 

Ordering & Shipping Information Translated pages Contact Us